The Chronic Gardener
The Chronic Gardener Podcast
Making "Wax on Snow"
0:00
-12:46

Making "Wax on Snow"

Caramel from boiled maple syrup, drizzled over freshly fallen snow

In North Country, we’re now in Sugar Snow Season. It’s a tough, beautiful and ecologically important time of year.

You can read more about the term “Sugar Snow,” why I sometimes have a complicated relationship with it, and how I’m ultimately coming to embrace the season in this week’s post.

One way I’m passing this Sugar Snow season is by making “Wax on Snow” - maple syrup boiled until it’s thick and then drizzled over freshly fallen snow. The drizzle forms a delicious sticky caramel, solid enough to be spooned off the snow and eaten just like that.

This podcast is an audio diary of my mom and I making Wax on Snow together. If you still have snow, please do make it along with us. If you’d rather use a recipe I’ve linked to one in this week’s post.

My son scoops Maple caramel off a bowl of Wax on Snow.

The Chronic Gardener is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
The Chronic Gardener
The Chronic Gardener Podcast
Essays and resources for gardeners and farmers living with chronic illness. A space where brokenness is ok. And beauty grows up through the cracks.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Cate Crawford